Fri, 07 Aug 2020

"The department as well as the affected municipalities will update the public once operations resume at each branch."

The affected centres

- Eshowe (Municipal)

- Vryheid (Municipal

- Howick (Municipal)

- Mooi River (Municipal)

- Underberg -KwaSani (Municipal)

- Hlabisa (Municipal)

- Richmond (Municipal)

- Utrecht (Municipal)

- Nongoma (Municipal)

- Newcastle RTI (Provincial)

- Rossburgh RTI (Provincial)

- Pinetown RTI (Provincial)

- Mkondeni RTI (Provincial)

Silisana said health workers were alerted and "necessary precautionary measures have been put in place for the rest of the staff members for assessment and screening to ensure a safe environment for all".

"Out of the 13 DLTCs that have been temporarily closed, nine are run by various local municipalities, while four are run by the provincial department of transport."


Sisilana said that once given the green light to resume operations by Occupational Health and Safety teams, all services rendered by the affected DLTCs would resume.

"Members of the public will be advised accordingly."

ALSO READ | Sadtu says schools should close until Covid-19 peak passes

She said those whose learner and driving licence tests that have been impacted by the closures will be contacted to arrange alternative test dates at no additional cost.

"Members of the public and car dealerships are urged to use other DLTCs and Registering Authorities that have not been affected. This is in addition to more than 39 post offices and municipalities operating as registering authorities."

She added: "Members of the public are also urged not to panic as there is the 90-days grace window period approved by the Minister of Transport for the renewal of licences that have expired."

More Netherlands News

Access More

Sign up for Netherlands News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!